What’s in a name: Nelly Green’s Galumbus???

stpattys2013b  Aside from tasting and sharing homebrew and craft beer in general, one of my favorite parts of brewing is naming my batches. I find it very entertaining and often spend inappropriate amounts of time tweaking and fussing. In the case of clones, it’s a challenge to pay homage to the parental brew while not simply reiterating their names. Additionally, I prefer to name my beers so that what’s in the bottle is at least slightly implied. To be honest, I find obscure names that are witty yet unrelated a bit tiring. I aim to be clever and often amusing, even if just to myself.

Naming a beer can also help define its swagger. Wait, what? No really… here’s how it often plays out. “Hey, I started brewing beer at home this summer. My last batch came out really tasty. I got creative and flavored and carbonated it with banana. I also added orange peel, some biscuit malt and a ton of Apollo hops.” “What are you calling it?” “Fat Orange Banana!” Too me that conjures both an idea of flavor and an image of what the label would look like. I considered Fat Banana Moon and simply Fat Banana. Both are respectable, but Fat Orange Banana stood out.

As I said this get’s both tricky and fun when trying to reference a beer you’re essentially copying. As a homebrewer, I think this is taken by most breweries as a compliment. Should I ever venture into commercial brewing, I’d expect this would then not go over so well. That being said, here’s a few examples of recipes I’ve worked up and named that may be easy to associate with the original brew. Citrus Flag, Hop Arrogance, Stoopid Farmhouse and Fat Apollo. These came from Flag Raiser, Arrogant Bastard, Hop Stoopid, and both Fat Tire and Apollo. Good times… great beer and each one bears a semblance to what’s on the label.

As with any part of brewing, putting some of yourself into it will often lead to a more enjoyable experience and product. Creative use of malt and hops, yeast, and yes even adjuncts can lead to novel flavors and aromas. For me, once the brewing process has reached the point of wort sitting in the fermenter, I begin to ponder names based on these ingredients and the associated aromas and flavors. Often, however, it isn’t until I taste and smell the finished beer that I know for sure what its name will be. My latest batch (and by latest I mean the wort is still cooling in an ice bath) I’m thinking of calling Nelly Green’s Galumbus after the four different types of hops I used, Nelson Sauvin, Green Bullet, Galaxy and Columbus. It’s triply appropriate as my grandmother’s last name is Green and this beer will be the first of several I plan to share at this year’s St. Patty’s parade. Wear your green and come try a sample… or three.

About mrhopsbeertalk
Avid homebrewer and craft beer taster. I love all the hops I can get. #hops #ipa #iipa #ipl #porter #dipa #specialtyale #saison #craftbeer western mass · mrhopsbeertalk.wordpress.com

2 Responses to What’s in a name: Nelly Green’s Galumbus???

  1. After a few rounds of tasting I’ve settled on Nelly Green’s Bubble Galumbus…

  2. Pingback: Starting 2014 with 3 unique homebrewed IPAs #drinkitfresh |

Leave a Reply

