I think its STILL just a bit early for pumpkin beer…

I’m not a hater, I understand that commercial brewers for the most part are feeding the market what it wants. There is one simple issue for me, as a New Englander, that I just can’t wrap my head around. Are they using pumpkins, and if they are where are they getting them? In this part of the world pumpkins are only commercially available at both the local grocery chains and preferably, local farm stands from early to late fall. To me that means pumpkin beers should be brewed then and enjoyed no sooner than 5 weeks later.  I see this style as more a late fall/early winter beer instead of  what they’ve become, a late summer brew. I feel it’s safe to say it’s all Halloween’s fault. That is without a doubt a pumpkin’s biggest day of exposure. Every brewery figured out, just as Homer Simpson did… pumpkin futures diminish really quickly starting November 1st. In the end, as I do with the Saison style, I will brew my beer when the temperatures and harvest allow rather than attempt to outpace the season as the commercial market often requires. Will I serve pumpkin beers on Halloween? Absolutely… (I’m a big fan of Shipyard’s Pumpkinhead and Dogfish Head’s Punkin Ale) but I’m also hoping a few will hold up well enough to be enjoyed on Thanksgiving and maybe even Christmas. Doesn’t that sound like the perfect time for a rich pumpkin stout or creamy pumpkin porter?

About mrhopsbeertalk
Avid homebrewer and craft beer taster. I love all the hops I can get. #hops #ipa #iipa #ipl #porter #dipa #specialtyale #saison #craftbeer western mass · mrhopsbeertalk.wordpress.com

2 Responses to I think its STILL just a bit early for pumpkin beer…

  1. Bishop says:

    I agree with you. I just finished drinking a few bottles of my Pumpkin Ale brewed with real pumpkin that I roasted. I really think it was better at 10 months old than it was at 3 months. It matured very well!

Leave a Reply

