What Kind of Brewer Are You?

Anti-Hero Brewing

It’s a slow day at the RLJ (real-life job), so I spent a good chunk of it organizing my homebrewing bookmarks folder. In doing so, I read back through some old bookmarked posts including one from The Mad Fermentationist: The Four Stages of Homebrewing. It’s an interesting read, and it takes one’s man measure of where you fit in as a brewer, broken down by a few categories:

  • Recipe: Type and quality of recipe
  • Wort Production: Extract, All-grain
  • Water: Water manipulation/evaluation level
  • Boil: Partial boil, Full Boil
  • Chilling: Chilling Method
  • Aeration: Aeration Method
  • Yeast: Type of yeast used
  • Fermentation: Fermenation Methodology
  • Packaging: How your beer is ultimately served
  • Other

An analysis of these categories will “determine” whether you rank as a Beginner, Advanced Beginner, Advanced or Expert.

So I thought it’d be fun to examine my own process against these criteria.

Recipe:

My Process: Generally I search for a recipe…

View original post 1,065 more words

About mrhopsbeertalk
Avid homebrewer and craft beer taster. I love all the hops I can get. #hops #ipa #iipa #ipl #porter #dipa #specialtyale #saison #craftbeer western mass · mrhopsbeertalk.wordpress.com

One Response to What Kind of Brewer Are You?

  1. Pingback: 14 batches of home brew later I’m a fiend for fresh beer @Slumbrew @Wyeastlab @Weyerbacher @sixpoint @SierraNevada | Mr Hops Beer Talk

Leave a Reply

